Acton Institute Powerblog

C.S. Lewis on the cardinal virtues

Share this article:
Join the Discussion:

Free weekly Acton Newsletter

Christian thinkers have divided virtue into seven categories: four Cardinal virtues—which all civilized people recognize—and three Theological virtues—which, as a rule, only Christians know about.

In this video, which illustrates a section of Mere Christianity, Lewis looks at the four Cardinal virtues: prudence, temperance, justice, and fortitude. The word ‘cardinal’ has nothing to do with ‘Cardinals’ in the Roman Church, Lewis notes. Rather, it comes from a Latin word meaning ‘the hinge of a door’. These were called “cardinal” virtues because they are “pivotal.”

Enjoy the article?

Click below to view our latest and most popular posts!

Read More

Joe Carter Joe Carter is a Senior Editor at the Acton Institute. Joe also serves as an editor at the The Gospel Coalition, a communications specialist for the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention, and as an adjunct professor of journalism at Patrick Henry College. He is the editor of the NIV Lifehacks Bible and co-author of How to Argue like Jesus: Learning Persuasion from History's Greatest Communicator (Crossway).